Interested in thoughts on a topic that came up in a recent tournament. It involves a player whose attitude to the game I respect greatly, and I wondered on an experienced judges attitude.
Essentially, before our game he separated his deck into land and spell, and proceeded to face-down manaweave, LSSLSLSSLS etc.... I asked him why he was doing it and he said, and I paraphrase 'If you start with land together, you end up with land together'. I commented that the same holds for weaving, and he was dismissive. He followed up the weave with a pile shuffle and several riffles and overhand shuffles.
Is this illegal? My standpoint is that the player, by actively un-randomizing his deck prior to shuffling, is essentially stating that he will not sufficiently randomize the deck during the shuffle process. It takes energy to manaweave - if it made no difference to the final deck order, you wouldn't do it. And if it makes a difference to the actual deck order, you're not allowed to do it. Am I missing something really obvious? Is manaweaving illegal even if you randomize afterward, and how do you check?
Thanks for any insight.